Product detail

The People's Queen

The People's Queen

Author: Vanora Bennett
$28.99(NZD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0
Description

Set in late fourteenth century England, Vanora Bennett's rich, dramatic new novel presents an England uncannily like our own. The country is in turmoil, The King is in debt to the City, and the old order had broken down - a time of opportunity indeed, for those who can seize the moment. The king's mistress, Alice Perrers, becomes the virtual ruler of the country from his sickbed. Disliked and despised by the Black Prince and his cronies, her strong connections to the merchants make her a natural ally for the king's ambitious second son, John of Gaunt.Together they create a powerful position in the city for one of his henchmen, Geoffrey Chaucer. In this moment of opportunity, Alice throws herself into her new role and the riches that lay before her, but Chaucer, even though her lover and friend, is uneasy over what he can foresee of the conspiracies around them. At the centre of these troubled times and political unrest stands the remarkable figure of a woman who, having escaped the plague which killed her whole family, is certain she is untouchable, and a man who learns that cleverness and ambition may for him sit too uneasily with decency and honesty.

Reviews

Praise for 'Blood Royal': 'Bennett writes thoughtful, well-researched historical fiction, finding connections between past and present without too much silliness or fact-bending, and with plenty of romance. Enormous, in every sense of the word' The Times 'A page-turning story, successfully evoking the atmosphere of intrigue and fear that beset the times' Daily Mail 'A skilful blend of fact and fiction. [Bennett's] characters, story, and fluid writing style sweep you along in a pageant of medieval life. This is quite simply an excellent read!' Historical Novel Society Praise for 'Portrait of an Unknown Woman': 'Bennett's background detail is impeccable -- part love story, part thriller, all excellently imagined and written.' The Times 'There is plenty to admire and enjoy in Bennett's portrayal of a society convulsed by radical change!Vanora Bennett is a writer to watch.' Times Literary Supplement 'Distinguished!Romance, intrigue and art history are confidently blended, and Holbein canvases are afforded starring roles.' Daily Mail 'If you want a classier-than-average romantic read, one contender is this fine historical debut, a 'Girl with a Pearl Earring'-style tale.' Sunday Times More praise for 'Portrait of an Unknown Woman': 'Fans of Tracy Chevalier and Philippa Gregory will lap up this meticulously researched historical tale!A brilliant study of passion, politics, religion and art.' Eve magazine 'Fans of Girl with a Pearl Earring will greet this with open arms: it's a similarly intriguing, clever web of art, passion and historical characters!atmospheric and alive with philosophy and treachery -- exhilarating.' Easy Living 'Rich in period detail, full of human passion, 'Portrait of an Unknown Woman' mingles art, politics and family drama to evoke the period when humanism was taking root in England. A fascinating tale, skilfully told and highly recommended.' Iain Pears, author of 'The Portrait' 'An enjoyable read.' Guardian 'If only history was taught by people like Vanora Bennett!I loved this book.' Penny Smith, First magazine

Author description

Vanora Bennett is a journalist and writer. She lived and worked in Russia for 7 years, writing for Reuters and the LA Times. She has been a foreign correspondent and feature writer and contributed to publications including The Times, the LA Times, the Guardian, the Observer and the Evening Standard. She lives in London with her husband and two sons.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9780007281954
  • : HarperCollins Publishers
  • : HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
  • : February 2011
  • : 197mm X 130mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : May 2011
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Paperback
  • : English
  • : English
  • : 823.92
  • : 823.92
  • : oc2010091885
  • : oc2010091885
  • : Vanora Bennett
  • : 544
  • : 544
  • : Paperback