Product detail

The Gingerbread Girl: A Heartwarming Read for the Cold Winter Nights!

The Gingerbread Girl: A Heartwarming Read for the Cold Winter Nights!

Author: Sheila Newberry
$22.99(NZD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0
Description
ALL SHE WANTED WAS A HOME FOR CHRISTMAS London, 1936 Ill and stuck in hospital at Christmas, seven year old Cora Kelly is excited to receive a visit from her mother, who brings her the gift of a gingerbread man. But little does Cora know that this will be the last time she sees her ...As Cora continues her recovery on a farm in the beautiful Norfolk countryside, tragedy strikes her family and she moves back to London with her new guardian, Eliza. Here they live a happy, if simple, life. But, as the Second World War approaches, and the past comes knocking, everything changes. Will Cora be able to escape the inevitable, or is she destined to repeat her parents' mistakes? For fans of Katie Flynn and Sheila Jeffries, The Gingerbread Girl is a heart-warming, festive novel from the Queen of family saga, Sheila Newberry. 'So gloriously nostalgic ...a perfect example of her talent.' Maureen Lee, bestselling author of The Seven Streets of Liverpool 'Like having dinner with your mother in her warm and cosy kitchen.' Diane Allen, bestselling author of For the Sake of Her Family
Promotion info
A Christmas novel from the Queen of family saga, Sheila Newberry.
Reviews
A full of life story which will take you back to the early 20th century when war was at Europe's doorstep and how people did their best 27 Book Street A heart warming tale Echoes in an Empty Room It is a sweet story that is nicely written The Avid Reader This heartfelt story of poor Cora's ordeal is a moving Christmas tale The People's Friend I love the setting of this read. 1936 London, doesn't get much better than that! (...) However, it is a heartfelt story which leaves you feeling all warm and fuzzy. A good read for Christmas Reecaspieces
Author description
Sheila Newberry was born in Suffolk and spent a lot of time there both before and during the war. She wrote her first 'book' before she was ten - all sixty pages of it - in purple ink. Her family has certainly been her inspiration and she has been published most of her adult life. She spent forty years living in Kent with her husband John on a smallholding, and has nine children and twenty-two lively grandchildren. They retired back to Suffolk where Sheila still lives today.
Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781785761911
  • : Zaffre Publishing
  • : Zaffre Publishing
  • : November 2016
  • : 198mm X 129mm X 22mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 368
  • : Paperback
  • : Paperback
  • : 823.92
  • : 823.92
  • : Sheila Newberry
  • : 368