Product detail

Little Paris Bookshop

Little Paris Bookshop

Author: Nina George; Simon Pare (Translator)
$24.99(NZD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0
Description
An International BestsellerMonsieur Perdu is a literary apothecary. From his floating bookstore on the Seine, he prescribes novels for the hardships of life to mend broken hearts and souls.The only person he can't heal through literature is himself; he's still haunted by heartbreak after his great love disappeared. She left him with only a litter, which he has never opened. Finally tempted to read the letter, Perdu hauls anchor and departs on a mission to discover the end of the story.
Reviews

This charming tale is already a bestseller in Germany. On a beautifully restored barge on the Seine, Jean Perdu runs a bookshop - or as he calls it, 'a literary apothecary', because the owner knows how to use books like medicine. The only person he is unable to cure - of heartache - is himself. For fans of Like Water for Chocolate and Amelie Red As ... the little floating bookshop sets off for Provence, George uses a heady cocktail of literature and more sensual pleasures to create a wonderfully offbeat romance Mail on Sunday Glowing ... a classic voyage and return narrative, layered with wit, enchanting writing and a love of books ... I prescribed it for a cynical friend who has "seen it all" (and read it all) and she swooned Daily Mail A captivating curiosity, for those who still believe in love and books, friendship and food, happiness and romance Saga A capricious, meandering journey of love, loss and wonderful food, so beautifully described. I enjoyed every moment Carole Matthews, bestselling author of The Cake Shop in the Garden If you're looking to be charmed right out of your own life for a few hours, sit down with this wise and winsome novel...Everything happens just as you want it to... from poignant moments to crystalline insights in exactly the right measure oprah.com An enchanting, uplifting read ... the sort of book that acts as a soothing tonic as you read - so the perfect accompaniment to relaxing in the sun Independent A real gem of a book that is my book of the year so far ... superbly written and flows effortlessly. You read and re-read phrase after evocative phrase. I couldn't put it down. The characters lingered long after I had finished it and the sense of time and place made me want to book a flight to Paris immediately ... You will LOVE it Patricia Scanlan A true gem for fiction lovers Good Housekeeping The Little Paris Bookshop is a wonderful tale showing the power of friendship and love France magazine A gentle, heartwarming tale of discovery Candis A novel about love and books - what better? Woman and Home Nina George tells us clever things about love, about literature that 'puts a bounce in your step', about tango in Provence. One of those books that gets you thinking about whom you must give it to as a gift even while you're still reading it, because it makes you happy, and should be part of any well-stocked apothecary Hamburg Morning Post Enchanting and moving ... Rarely have I read such a beautiful book! Tina magazine [a] wonderfully eclectic and quirky cast of characters, all of whom are so well defined and written The Armchair Library blog a delightful, bittersweet tale Lakes Post A charming story about life, love, despair and, above all, hope Who Weekly

Author description

Born in 1973, Nina George is a journalist and the author of numerous bestselling novels, which have been translated into several languages. THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP was a phenomenal top five bestseller in Germany and is set to be published around the world. She is married to the writer Jens J. Kramer and lives in Hamburg.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9780349140377
  • : Little, Brown Book Group
  • : Abacus
  • : December 2015
  • : 198mm X 126mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : January 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Paperback
  • : 116
  • : 116
  • : en
  • : en
  • : 833/.92
  • : 833/.92
  • : 368
  • : Nina George; Simon Pare (Translator)
  • : 368
  • : Paperback