Product detail

Scourge of Rome

Scourge of Rome

Author: Douglas Jackson
Series: Gaius Valerius Verrens
$37.00(NZD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0
Description

70AD. Disgraced, dishonoured and banished into exile on pain of execution if he ever returns to Rome, the former military tribune Gaius Valerius Verrens makes his way East through the death and destruction of the savage Judaean rebellion. Valerius knows his only hope of long term survival and a restoration of his family's fortunes lie with his friend Titus, commander of the Army of Judaea and son of the newly crowned Emperor Vespasian. But when he reaches the ring of legionary camps around the seemingly impregnable city of Jerusalem he finds Titus a changed man. Gone is the cheerful young officer he knew, replaced by a tough, ruthless soldier under pressure from his father to end the insurrection at any cost. Soon, Valerius finds himself at the centre of a web of intrigue spun by Titus' lover, Queen Berenice of Cilicia, and her sometime ally, the general's turncoat adviser, Flavius Josephus, who have an ulterior motive for ending the siege quickly. Yet the laurels that will regain his honour cannot be won in the negotiations in the murky tunnels beneath Jerusalem. Only amid the fire and blood of battle will he equal the glory that brought him the title Hero of Rome.

Promotion info

For fans of Simon Scarrow and Ben Kane, the spectacular new novel in Douglas Jackson's epic series sees Gaius Valerius Verrens banished from Rome only to be caught up in one of the most savage uprisings the Roman Empire had witnessed: the Judaean rebellion and the siege of Jerusalem.

Reviews

"Scourge of Rome is a compelling and urgent account of one of the darkest events in Roman history. Douglas Jackson brings history to life in a compelling way." -- Kate Atherton SUNDAY EXPRESS "A writer at the top of his game, his books are the complete package, filled with intrigue, action and adventure. But more than that they are filled with history, with heart and emotion and characters that will make you bleed and cry and love ... I cannot recommend this highly enough." PARMENIONBOOKS

Author description

A journalist by profession, Douglas Jackson transformed a lifelong fascination for Rome and the Romans in to his first two novels highly-praised novels, Caligula and Claudius. His third novel, Hero of Rome, introduced readers to his new series hero, Gaius Valerius Verrens. Defender of Rome, Avenger of Rome and Sword of Rome followed, winning critical acclaim and confirming Douglas as one of the UK's foremost historical novelists. An active member of the Historical Writers Association and the Historical Novels Society, He lives near Stirling in Scotland.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9780593070598
  • : Transworld Publishers Ltd
  • : Bantam Press
  • : August 2015
  • : 234mm X 153mm X 29mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : November 2015
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 336
  • : Douglas Jackson
  • : 336
  • : Paperback
  • : Paperback
  • : B & W map
  • : B & W map