Orient

Author(s): Christopher Bollen

Fiction

Suspenseful and haunting, Bollen's thrilling novel Orient is a provocative portrait of the American dream, in the vein of Lionel Shriver or AM Homes. At the eastern edge of Long Island, far from the hustle of New York City, sits Orient, a secluded village that has been home to a few families for hundreds of years and is now - reluctantly - opening up to wealthy weekenders and artist refugees from the city. On the last day of summer, a young man with a hazy past appears, and, not long after his arrival comes a series of events that shatters the peace in this isolated community. A strange, twisted creature washes ashore on the Sound and, soon after, a human corpse is found floating in the water. An elderly woman dies in bizarre circumstances and a house fire erupts out of nowhere. Fear and suspicion mount until everyone's secrets threaten to be exposed. But who is Mills Chevern? What is his real name and why is he here? As all eyes shift towards the orphan drifter, Mills elicits the support of Beth Shepherd, an Orient native who is hiding a secret of her own.

$32.99(NZD)

Available Stock:
0

Order this Item


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

Christopher Bollen is a writer who lives in New York City. He regularly writes about art, literature, and culture. He is the author of Lightening People and is currently the Editor at Large at Interview Magazine.

General Fields

  • : 9781471136153
  • : Simon & Schuster Ltd
  • : Simon & Schuster Ltd
  • : February 2015
  • : 234mm X 153mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : April 2015
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Christopher Bollen
  • : 608
  • : 608
  • : Paperback
  • : Paperback
  • : 415
  • : 415